Map of Dutch settlements in Guyana and Suriname 1600-1750

Map of Dutch settlements in Guyana and Suriname 1600-1750. Author Marco Ramerini

Written by Marco Ramerini. English text revision by Dietrich Köster. Around 1600 Spain had occupied in the Caribbean four large islands: Cuba, Hispaniola, Jamaica and Puerto Rico. These islands together with Mexico and Central America as far south as Guatemala formed the viceroyalty of New Spain. The Lesser Antilles were left unoccupied by Spain due to the ferocity of their ...

Read More »
EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.

Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: