Mozambique island Fort, Mozambique
Mozambique island Fort, Mozambique

Data on the independence of Portuguese colonies

This post is also available in: French German Italian Spanish Dutch Portuguese (Portugal)

Written by Dietrich Köster. 

Brazil – 07 September 1822

Cape Verde – 05 July 1975

Portuguese Guinea – unilateral proclamation: 24 September 1973, definitive independence: 10 September 1974

São João Baptista de Ajudá – occupation by the Republic of Dahomey (Benin): 01 August 1961

São Tomé and Príncipe – 12 July 1975

Angola – 11 November 1975

Mozambique – 25 June 1975

Diu Fort, India

Diu Fort, India

Portuguese State of India (Dadrá and Nagar Haveli) – seizure by the Indian Union: 02 August 1954

Portuguese State of India: (Goa, Damão and Diu) – seizure by the Indian Union: 19 December 1961

Macau – transfer of political power to the People’s Republic of China: 20 December 1999

Portuguese Timor – unilateral proclamation: 28 November 1975, invasion by the Republic of Indonesia: 07 December 1975, definitive independence: 20 May 2002

Copyright 2004 by Dietrich Köster, D-53115 Bonn

EU laws require that we request your consent to the use of cookies. We use cookies to ensure that our site works properly. Some of our advertising partners also collect data and use cookies to publish personalized ads.

Subscribe to our YOUTUBE channel: